Get Answers to all your Questions

header-bg qa

Eukaryotic cells have organelles which may
a) Not be bound by a membrane
b) Bound by a single membrane
c) Bound by a double membrane
d) Group the various subcellular organelles into these three categories.

Answers (1)

(a) Ribosome is the organelles which are not bound by a membrane. They occur freely in the cytoplasm. These can also be found attached to the surface of endoplasmic reticulum, giving it a rough appearance.Ribosomes are also found in the matrix of mitochondria and stroma of plastids.

(b) Lysosomes are the cell organelles that are bound by a single membrane. Lysosomes arethe tiny sac-like structure that is found in animal cells but not in prokaryotes. Lysosomes help in destroying and preventing harmful substances and foreign materials from entering the cells. Most of the organelles of the cells are bound by double membranes.

(c) Mitochondria, plastids, nucleus, endoplasmic reticulum are some examples of double-membrane cell organelles. These organelles serve important functions in the cell-like synthesis of proteins, storing materials, providing energy to the cells.

Posted by


View full answer